The Jewish Heritage Society

Copyright 2018. Jewish Heritage Society of the Five Towns --  Exploring the History of the Jewish Five Towns. All rights reserved.

‚ÄčFor more information or to add pics to the website contact us at


of the Five Towns

Click On the Book For a Preview

Flowers in the desert

The Early History and Growth of Orthodox Judaism in the Five Towns 

About the Jewish Heritage Society

The Jewish Heritage Society of the Five Towns, a charitable organization, tax exempt under section 510(c) 3 of the Internal Revenue code,   was founded through the vision of Rabbi Benjamin Kamenetzky, who was one of the original pioneers of the Orthodox Jewish community of the Five Towns.  At the 50th anniversary of the founding of Yeshiva of South Shore in 2006, Rabbi Kamenetzky commissioned a group of volunteers to collect and organize photographs, newspaper clippings, and other artifacts that documented the history of the growth of the community. That collection grew through the efforts of dozens of men and women, institutions, and organizations who were eager to share their wealth of knowledge and their cherished memories. 

Now available!